Gone in 36 Days

I was gone for a month and 5 days before my first post in 2013. I was so much occupied with the things and emotions clouding my life.

What I wanted at that moment was to be away.

Wish granted. My daughter’s school ended early for the Holidays. On Dec 20th, I packed our bags and headed home to spend Christmas and New Year with my family. The ride to Baguio took us 10 hours on the bus because of the traffic. We rested for 5 hours, then we hit the road to Buguias (where I spent 15 years of my life). It was a 3 hour ride in a long winding road. I felt dizzy but I so much enjoyed the scenery and the cool breeze. Too bad I forgot to bring my camera with me.

Views from the 3 hour ride to Buguias taken using my phone.
Views from the 3 hour ride to Buguias taken using my phone.

A lot changed. People from nearby low land provinces moved to the mountains so the place is now crowded. Houses sprung like mushrooms. I usually woke up in the morning, opened my window and engulfed myself with the view of the sun rise, the mountains and the neighboring farms. Since I arrived, my curtain was never left opened because across my window is another house exactly facing my old room, blocking my view of everything but the house.

Despite these few changes, there is still no place like home. Home brought back a lot of wonderful memories from my childhood…And instantly, I forgot about all the things that I was worrying about.

My days were spent talking to my mom, dad, sister-in-law, and relatives, walking around the neighborhood and school ground while Alexcz was playing with her cousins.  I talked to my aunt and my cousin who both went through a roller coaster married life. They are the two perfect persons to seek advise from regarding the annulment case. We talked to a lawyer and he walked us through the process and even gave me the estimate of how much this would cost. He offered a lower amount than the previous lawyer I had. Something I have to save for to get myself free at last.

A walk around town and in my old HS.
A walk around town and in my old HS.
Vacation means Play time!
Vacation means Play time!

Dinner was served, everyday, before 6 pm and everyone including the neighbors were asleep after 8 or 9 pm.  In Manila, we always had dinner at past 7 or 8 pm and almost everyone is awake at 12 midnight. Unable to sleep, I grabbed whatever available books I can find at home. I managed to read 5 books while I was on vacation – The Conspiracy Club by Jonathan Kellerman, Her Lawman on Call by Marie Ferrarella (Mills & Boon), The Last Innocent Hour by Margot Abbott, City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare (Book 2 of the Mortal Instruments) and Me and Mr Darcy by Alexandra Potter.

Then came Christmas’ Eve and New Years’ Eve. It was a day spent preparing food. Below was my share for the New Year. In the picture (big image) is “Pancit” that signifies long life ahead of us. From left to right and down, we had pork barbecue (the kids favorite), glutinous or sticky rice for a stronger relationship, 12 fruits (for most it should be round) for good luck, chicken and graham cake (requested by Alexcz).

Satisfying our cravings. :)
Satisfying our cravings. 🙂 My share for the NY food bonanza.

The greatest achievement so far was I learned to play an instrument – the guitar.  Among us 4 siblings, I was the only one who wasn’t blessed with a good voice and I think that was the reason why I never picked up that guitar. Inspired by my friend G, I took the guitar and started playing 4 chords G, D, Em and C. Then I played 3 more chords – Dm, F and Am. I now can play 2 songs using this simple chords – Teardrops in My Guitar by Taylor Swift and It Will Rain by Bruno Mars. I still have to learn how to tune the guitar and strum. 😀 I don’t have the courage to show you the result but my friend said I did great for a starter.

The wannabe guitarist. Alexcz inspired by me tried to play the guitar.
The wannabe guitarist. Alexcz, inspired by mwah, tried to play the guitar.

We are back in the city. School resumed and I am about to start work next week… and I am already missing home.

 

2 thoughts on “Gone in 36 Days

Leave a Reply

