Inspiration from Juliet

“Dear Claire,

“What” and “If” are two words as non-threatening as words can be. But put them together side-by-side and they have the power to haunt you for the rest of your life: What if? What if? What if? I don’t know how your story ended but if what you felt then was true love, then it’s never too late. If it was true then, why wouldn’t it be true now? You need only the courage to follow your heart. I don’t know what a love like Juliet’s feels like: love to leave loved ones for, love to cross oceans for, but I’d like to believe if I ever were to feel it, that I’d have the courage to seize it. And Claire, if you didn’t, I hope one day that you will.

All my love,
Juliet”

– Letters to Juliet

This is true in love and life.  I married for the wrong reason, what if I did not? I finished a business course, what if I pursued architecture? I chose to work here, what if I accepted the offer abroad? I f*cked up on my choices and that’s the reason why I have these “what if’s.” But that doesn’t mean that I didn’t gain from those choices. I had my lovely daughter from a failed marriage. I learned to manage my finances. I get to spend time with my daughter, friends and family during special occasions. Plus, as Juliet said, it’s never too late. I have made mistakes before but I am offered choices to make it better. All I need is “courage to seize it.”

Leave a Reply

