Is it Status or Statuses?

When writing about my blog on “Remembering 2009”, I stopped over the word status. “Remembering 2009” is about a summary of my Facebook status/statuses for 2009. I am not sure what to put as the plural form of “status.” So I did some googling and here’s what I got.

PLURAL FORM OF STATUS

1. Merriam-Webster – plural: statuses

2. In Latin, the plural form of “status” is also “status.” These are pronounced differently according to Oxford English Dictionary. The ‘u’ in singular form is read like in datum, whereas the plural form is read like that in tune.

Others say its “stati” or “statii.” I’m not sure if this is also correct or if this is used but it sounds horrible. I’ll just stick with status or statuses. 🙂

Leave a Reply

