Enjoying Status Complicated

Image

Relationship status in social networking sites announces the availability or the commitment between people. This can be single, in a relationship, married, complicated and others. Most relationship status is easily understood except for complicated. Complicated relationship means different things to different people. I have asked my closest friends and these are the answers I got.

“Being in a relationship that is on and off”

“Married having an affair.”

“Falling with someone who is either in a relationship or married. It does not necessarily mean that ‘someone’ loves you back.”

“Complicated? Torn between staying and getting out of the relationship.”

My relationship status since 2005 to 2012 started from “Married” to “It’s Complicated.” I decided to leave my husband in 2009. I caught him cheating on me for the nth time (I couldn’t even count). Having no divorce in the Philippines, the long wait and costly annulment plus my husband not cooperating with the process, my relationship status for 3 years and counting remains to be complicated.

So while I am staying complicated, I am enjoying bits of being single.

* I go out with girl friends. – I have no one to answer to. This time I can enjoy the company of my friends without being asked who I’m with.

* I get to enjoy being wanted without having to give something back in return – I wanted to go out on a date but I can’t. I am contented knowing that someone wants me despite the craziness in my life and does not demand something back. Of course, I don’t want this to go on forever because I also wanted to be committed to someone (to the right one), someday.

* I am MORE focused – My energy is focused in making myself better as a mom and as a person. I learn to enjoy life and things I’ve missed before. I now have more time with my kid.

… and more.

Someday, I’ll have my status changed again to single or in a relationship. And while I’m working on that, I am just enjoying the ride, learning from the process and sharing the experiences to friends with the same challenges.

2 thoughts on “Enjoying Status Complicated

Leave a Reply

